Wokingham News Centre
  • News home page
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Instagram
Search our Site
Main menu
Page menu
Wokingham Borough schools elect Youth MP

Wokingham Borough schools elect Youth MP

05 May 2021
school election web.jpg

Pupils from senior schools across Wokingham Borough have elected a new Youth MP and a Vice Youth MP.


The programme is run by the British Youth Council, to give opportunities to young people to use their elected voice to bring about social change through meaningful representation and campaigning.

Equality, bullying, climate change, mental health and money management were just some of the key topics raised in the candidates’ manifestos with passionate speeches delivered by all.


Earlier this year participating schools elected a candidate to be put forward as a prospective Youth MP. These students met on Tuesday 4 May with proceedings opened by Wokingham Borough Mayor Cllr Malcolm Richards, offering advice to all candidates. The event took place virtually due to current Covid-19 restrictions.


They were accompanied by five fellow students, who then became the electorate. The candidates each gave five-minute speech and answered questions, prior to a ballot. 


Jonathan Dodd, Year 11 pupil from Emmbrook School, was elected Youth MP and Amanjot Chug, Year 9 pupil from St Crispin’s School, was elected Vice Youth MP.


Jonathan and Amanjot will have the opportunity to organise events and projects, run campaigns and influence decision makers on the issues that matter most to them, as well as to meet at the UK Youth Parliament Annual Sitting and UK Youth Parliament House of Commons Sitting, Covid restrictions permitting.


Wokingham Borough Mayor Cllr Malcolm Richards said: “I am very happy to be able to join these dedicated young people today with such a passion for making a positive change for their peers across the borough

“This is a great opportunity for our young people to use their voices to bring the issues that are important to them to light. Wokingham Borough Council supports this programme and we look forward to working closely with Jonathan and Amanjot over the next year.”


The other pupils who ran for office were Aadya Sunil (Year 10, The Holt), Luka Zivkovic (Year 9, Maiden Erlegh), and Megan Cameron-Webb (Year 10, Waingels College).


Give website feedback